January 21, 2022 | Firm News
Anyone who has been in a car accident knows that the moments following a crash could be confusing and overwhelming. You could be injured and in pain, worried about your passengers, or concerned about the position of your car in oncoming traffic. The last thing you are thinking about after a car accident is a police report. However, an accident report could be valuable evidence if you want to recover damages through an insurance settlement or personal injury lawsuit.
After a car crash, you should call the police to ensure that emergency and medical personnel are dispatched to the scene. This also ensures that a police report will be made. Below, our Ft. Lauderdale car accident attorney will review the necessary steps in obtaining a copy of the accident report.
South Florida Law, PLLC represents people injured in car accidents along with their families. If our office is working with an insurance company or preparing to file a personal injury lawsuit, a police report provides critical information. To review what steps you need to take after an accident, call our office at (954) 932-7877.
There are many critical pieces of evidence available after a car accident. One source of important information is the police report from the accident.
You could obtain a copy of your report in one of four ways. First, you could call the Ft. Lauderdale Police Department at (954) 764-4357 to request a copy of your report. Accident reports could also be requested in person at the Fort Lauderdale Police Department, 1300 W Broward Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312, or by mail to the Records Unit at the same address. Finally, you could request your accident report online.
Florida requires that anyone wishing to obtain an accident that occurred within 60 days complete an affidavit explaining why you are seeking the report. if you are requesting the accident report by mail, you must include a signed and notarized copy of the affidavit along with your written request. In cases where the accident occurred over one year ago, you must contact Tallahassee at (850) 617-3416.
The cost of a police report in Ft. Lauderdale is approximately $15. In addition to the information above, you might have to provide the report number, your name, driver’s license number, address, email, and the vehicle registration number the time and location of the accident. For more information regarding what you could require, you could visit Fort Lauderdale Police Department.
No matter when your accident occurred, our experienced Miami car accident attorneys have the knowledge and resources to track down the police report in addition to any other evidence necessary to build a personal injury case or negotiate with an insurance company. Contact our office for steps to take after a car accident in Florida.
In Ft. Lauderdale, you do not have to file a police report if the accident did not result in any injuries or death. However, if the accident resulted in more than $500 worth of damage, a report must be filed whether or not an injury occurred.
Nonetheless, our Florida car accident attorney strongly advises reporting even a minor accident. First, if you file an insurance claim, your insurance provider could require an accident report. Furthermore, it is possible that the full extent of your injuries will not be known until days after an accident. You could walk away from an apparent fender-bender only to be in extreme pain within a day or two. Having an accident report could prove invaluable in establishing how an accident occurred. It will also include the names and contact information of vital witnesses. A police report is a critical tool for our Florida car accident lawyers when negotiating a settlement with an insurance provider or preparing a court case.
An accident report provides an unbiased account of what occurred made by a trained police officer. If another driver caused the accident, having a police report that supports your claim increases your chances of receiving the compensation you deserve through an insurance settlement or a personal injury lawsuit. The police report could also prove valuable if the at-fault driver or insurance company claims your conduct contributed to the accident. Additionally, vital information, such as the names and contact information of witnesses, should be included in the accident report.
An accident report will include the date and time an accident occurred, as well as the location and weather and traffic conditions. The vehicles involved in the accident will be listed with their license plate numbers, year, make, model and the damage sustained. The names of those involved in the accident will be listed, along with their statements of what occurred. Any witnesses will also be included in the police report. If anyone was arrested or cited, that information is also be included.
Our experienced Hallandale car accident attorneys will use the information in the police report, along with other evidence gathered regarding your accident, to negotiate with an insurance company or when arguing your claim in court.
What you should do immediately after an accident in Ft. Lauderdale is not always clear. However, even if you believe the accident was minor, you should contact local law enforcement and have a police report filed. You never know when an accident report will be necessary. Our experienced Ft. Lauderdale car accident lawyers turn to police reports for valuable information. If you have been in a car crash, call South Florida Law, PLLC at (954) 932-7877 to schedule a free appointment.