January 21, 2022 | Firm News
Car accidents in Pompano Beach can be very damaging. Victims deserve access to information regarding their accident, including police reports. So, how can you get a police report for a car accident in Pompano Beach?
You can get a police report for a car accident in Pompano Beach in one of three ways: online, in person, or by mail. Digitally requesting your report is perhaps the easiest option. Regardless of how you choose to get a copy of a police report for a car accident in Pompano Beach, there’s certain information you must provide. In addition to specific details about your car accident, you will also have to complete a Sworn Statement to Obtain Traffic Crash Report Information form if you request a report within 60 days of an accident.
South Florida Law, PLLC wants you to get the justice you deserve. Our attorneys can help you get a copy of a police report for an accident and file a lawsuit against a negligent driver. For a free case evaluation, call the Pompano Beach car accident attorneys at South Florida Law, PLLC today at (954) 932-7877.
Police reports for car accidents in Pompano Beach are easily accessible online. This is the preferable way to request a copy of a police report. Not only is it simple, but it’s often quicker than visiting the police department in person or requesting your report by mail.
Car accident victims in Pompano Beach can access digital copies of a police report online. It can take about five business days for reports to become available online. Digital requests are processed in the order they’re received, so expect to wait for access to your report once you’ve made your request.
Electronic copies of police reports for car accidents in Pompano Beach don’t cost anything. It’s completely free to access a digital copy of a police report for your accident.
If car accident victims in Pompano Beach want to get their police reports in person, they can do so. This will require you to visit the Records Division of the Broward County Sheriff’s Office, which is only open at specific times.
Car accident victims may have to wait upwards of five days to access a copy of a police report in person in Pompano Beach. The Records Division is open to the public Monday through Thursday, from 8:30 in the morning until 5:30 in the evening.
However, it’s important to note that you will not walk away with a copy of your police report. Instead, the Records Division will input your request into the database, and it will be emailed to you once it’s processed.
If you’re having trouble getting a copy online, your attorney can help. Instead of making the trip to the Records Division, an experienced lawyer, like the Fort Lauderdale car accident attorneys at South Florida Law, PLLC, can request it for you. That can save you time and frustration.
If going online or in-person doesn’t appeal to you, you can request copies of a police report for a car accident in Pompano Beach by mail. This is an involved process and has more steps than requesting a report another way.
To request a copy of a police report by mail, you must include the following:
In addition, you must include a Sworn Statement to Obtain Traffic Crash Report form if you are making your request within 60 days of an accident. Victims must mail their requests to the Public Records Unit of the Broward Sheriff’s Office.
Car accident victims need to have certain pieces of information on hand when requesting a copy of a police report in Pompano Beach. Without this information, you will not be able to get a copy of your police report.
Regardless of how you access your report, there are a few things you need to know. To obtain a copy of a police report for a car accident in Pompano Beach, you must include the location and time of the accident. You must also provide the case number if you have it. As they complete their report, Pompano Beach police officers should give you this number at the accident site. You must also provide your name and other personal information.
In Pompano Beach, only involved parties and their attorneys can access police reports within 60 days of an accident. Because of this, you will likely need to complete a Sworn Statement to Obtain Traffic Crash Report Information form. A skilled Hallandale car accident lawyer like those at South Florida Law can help you complete this form. This sworn statement attests to your involvement in a car accident in Pompano Beach.
Getting a police report after a car accident in Pompano Beach is important. These reports contain vital details that can help you prove your claim against a negligent driver. Without access to a police report, you may not recover compensatory damages for your injuries.
When Pompano Beach police officers arrive at the scene of an accident, they will complete a crash report. This report will note important information, including eyewitness statements and officers’ own opinions. Speaking honestly with police officers during this time is important. Be thorough in your account of an accident.
Experienced lawyers, like the Miami car accident attorneys at South Florida Law, PLLC, can scour police reports for clues. During an investigation into a car accident, your attorney can use a police report to find evidence against a negligent driver.
It’s important to note that police reports aren’t considered evidence alone. However, having access to one can illuminate an accident’s cause. Calling the police after an accident in Pompano Beach is the only way to ensure the creation of a police report. If you don’t, you won’t be able to access one in the future when suing a negligent driver for compensation.
Car accident victims in Pompano Beach deserve compensatory damages, and getting a police report is an important step in that process. To schedule a case evaluation with the Hollywood, Florida car accident attorneys at South Florida Law call today at (954) 932-7877.