January 21, 2022 | Firm News
After a car accident in Florida, it’s necessary to call the police. Not only will law enforcement officers help you get the medical attention you need if you’re injured, but they will also complete a crash report. This report can be helpful to your attorney if you intend to sue, so knowing how to get a police report after a car accident in Florida is important.
Obtaining a police report for a car accident in Florida is relatively simple. Victims have three options. They can request a report online, which is the most convenient method. Requests can also be made by mail or in person at the correct law enforcement office. If you’re having difficulty requesting a crash report, a Florida lawyer can do so for you. Police reports can contain important details that can be helpful to an attorney during a lawsuit.
The Fort Lauderdale car accident attorneys at South Florida Law, PLLC can help you obtain a police report. Our lawyers can use crash reports to support your claim against a negligent driver. Call the Florida car accident attorneys at South Florida Law, PLLC at (954) 932-7877 today for a free case evaluation.
In Florida, police officers complete a crash report after a car accident. This report contains important information and details about a collision, which could be helpful to your attorney if you decide to sue a negligent driver for damages. Victims can request a report from Florida’s online portal or visit the correct police department. You can also send a request by mail.
After a car accident in Florida, the corresponding police report will be uploaded to the online portal in about two weeks. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles’ (FLHSMV) Crash Portal allows car accident victims or attorneys to request a digital copy of a crash report. Each report costs $12 total, including processing fees. Although the contents of a police report are confidential for 60 days after an accident, the information is available to involved parties’ attorneys, should they need to access it.
Choosing to obtain a digital copy of a crash report might be the easiest method. A lawyer, like the Florida car accident attorneys at South Florida Law, PLLC, can request a report for you if you’re having difficulty doing so yourself. The digital copy of a police report for your car accident will be available to download for two days after a request is granted.
Florida car accident victims, or their attorneys, can request a copy of a police report by mail. To do so, requesters must send payment and a signed Sworn Statement to Obtain a Crash Report to receive one within 60 days of an accident. During this period, the information within a Florida crash report is confidential, and only approved parties can request reports.
Mail requests should be sent to the Florida Highway Patrol station that is closest to the accident site. Requesting a report by mail can be inconvenient and unnecessary since there is an option to obtain a report digitally. However, suppose you want to request a report through the mail. In that case, you can do so with the help of a dedicated lawyer, like the Florida car accident attorneys at South Florida Law, PLLC. Requesting a report by mail requires additional paperwork that might be difficult for victims to complete by themselves.
Depending on where a car accident occurs in Florida, you might have to request a crash report in person. When local law enforcement officers respond to the scene of an accident, they might require you to come to their department to obtain a copy of a crash report. This can be difficult for car accident victims, especially if they were injured during a collision.
Florida Statute § 316.066 allows involved parties and their legal representatives to request reports in person. That means that your attorney can visit the necessary local police department to obtain a copy of a police report for a car accident in Florida.
Getting access to a police report after a car accident in Florida is important. Doing so can help your attorney support your claim against a negligent driver so that you can receive compensation for your injuries. Florida cities may have different laws that compel police officers to make a crash report, so be sure to request that one is completed after a car accident. If not, it might be harder to recover damages for your injuries.
No matter the scale of a car accident, it is always important to alert Florida police officers. Law enforcement officers can note important information that might support your claim against a negligent driver. The purpose of police reports for car accidents is to record details that outline the events of a collision. Police officers can take note of the traffic at the time and whether or not a responsible driver was impaired while operating their vehicle.
Officers can speak to eyewitnesses that provide their accounts of what happened. These details can be very helpful to a lawyer, like the Ft Lauderdale personal attorneys at South Florida Law, PLLC, while constructing your case. Police reports for car accidents aren’t considered evidence, but having access to them can provide your attorney with invaluable information.
Although it is important to call police officers after a car accident in Florida, you might not think it’s necessary at the time. If the police aren’t alerted or fail to complete a crash report, you can report the accident yourself. Victims can complete a Driver Self Report of Traffic Crash and email it to FLHSMV if necessary. However, it’s most helpful if police complete a crash report immediately after a car accident in Florida.
Having a police report to support your claim against a negligent driver is only possible if you call law enforcement to the scene of a car accident in Florida. For help obtaining a police report and a free case evaluation, call the Miami car accident attorneys at South Florida Law, PLLC at (954) 932-7877.